CoD: Modern Warfare 2 Remastered PC pre-loads start today

While Call of Duty has quit with the timed-exclusive maps, it seems we’re now well into the era of timed-exclusive games – but fear not, Modern Warfare 2 Remastered is almost ready for launch on PC. The Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Remastered PC release date is still set for April 30, and you can start your pre-loads today.

Modern Warfare 2 Campaign Remastered pre-loads on Battle.net will begin at 17:00 PDT / 20:00 EDT on April 28, or 1:00 BST on April 29 – that’s roughly one hour after this story goes live, so if you’re reading this, you’re probably ready to load up. The download was just under 50GB on PlayStation 4, so expect a similar size here.

The updated Modern Warfare 2 is $19.99 and yes, only includes the campaign itself – no multiplayer. Activision and Infinity Ward say that’s the plan for the foreseeable future, as you’re supposed to be playing the, er, modern Modern Warfare for your multiplayer needs, instead.

While you await the launch of Modern Warfare 2 Remastered, 2019’s Modern Warfare has a big new update this week, too, featuring the return of Gunsmith customs.

Or check out some great FPS games to keep your shooting needs fulfilled.