Call of Duty: Modern Warfare gets the MK9 Bruen LMG, Gunsmith customs, and double XP

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare has a big new update this week, which adds new weapons, customisation options, and some other bits and pieces just before the start of another double XP weekend. The big additions this time are the new MK9 Bruen LMG and the new Gunsmith Customs option.

Gunsmith Customs are here to let you mix and match different bits from various Call of Duty: Modern Warfare blueprints to build new hybrid weapons. You can swap around attachments from blueprints for the same weapon to build something with a unique look and set of abilities, for a more personal touch in multiplayer.

This week’s update also adds the MK9 Bruen LMG, a “high accuracy and reliable damage weapon”, according to the official breakdown. You can pick it up through a new LMG Foxtrot challenge, or just buy the Encryption bundle in the store, if you prefer spending money to playing FPS games.

This week also sees the return of the Shoot the Ship playlist, featuring Shoot House and Shipment, and brings a new contract to Call of Duty: Warzone – Most Wanted, which lets you declare yourself a bounty target for all enemy teams. If you survive, your whole squad gets to redeploy.

Besides all that, a double XP, double weapon XP, and double battle pass tier progression bonus will begin on May 1 at 10:00 PDT / 13:00 EDT / 18:00 BST, and lasts until May at those same times. If you’re looking to grind, this is the weekend to do it.